Skip to content
January 25, 2011 / Melissa Yuan-Innes

Noodles, Don’t noodles…Fix your life and (writing) success will follow

Back up your work.

Keep track of your receipts

Write every day

Get an agent

Don’t get an agent

As they said in Kung Fu Panda, “Noodles, don’t noodles…” (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Iu8soAc-MIg)

Or, to put it another way, it’s all smoke.

Do what your heart and your body tell you to and it will work out.

Look at me.  I knew I should back up my work.  I did back up my work.  Automatically to a backup drive, always (’cause it’s mindless).  USB stick, sometimes.  Because I have to remember.  To another computer or CD, almost never.

But now that the CBC is taking me seriously, I’m taking me seriously.  I back up my work every day, usually several times a day.  Simple.

So if you don’t like the way your writing, or the way your life, is going, don’t keep hammering at the work.  Don’t keep going to conferences and begging people for rules on how, if you just used the right font or wore the right shoes or wrote 8000 words a day or met the right editor or agent, you would hit.

Noodle.  Don’t noodle.

Rules are just rules.

Sometimes they are right.

Sometimes they are not right.

Rules are not the answer.

 

Listen to your heart.

What would be most fun for you?


Listen to your body.

Do you need a break?

Then sleep.  Do yoga.  Whatever.

The rest will follow.

Yay.

 

(Partially inspired by Patrick Alan’s wife.)

One of these days, I’ll write another of my Zen/Buddhist/enlightenment insights:

The only way to win is not to play.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. savantefolle / Jan 28 2011 10:55 pm

    Reading this post remainded me to send off a copies of my current work. Thanks!

    • melissayuaninnes / Jan 29 2011 12:34 pm

      Yes, I should work on my marketing too. Except relaxing is a higher priority for me right now. Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

