Skip to content
July 31, 2012 / Melissa Yuan-Innes

Writing Through the One-Star Reviews

Have you had horrid reviews? Hate mail? Me, too. I wasn’t sure what to make of it. Well, now I have read the perfect response by Jennifer Wright on The Gloss:

In my experience, there are two good reasons to write on the internet. Neither is “so strangers will throw me a parade.”

[snip]

When I sell a freelance article, I order myself a bouquet of flowers (Sometimes I buy champagne or Vosges chocolates. I make myself feel pretty, is what I do. Like a lady).

[snip]

People don’t like that article? F* them. I have flowers in my house. 

[snip]

Of course, sometimes, most miraculously, strangers will read an article and they will love it. Sometimes they will love it so much they decide they like you as a person. It’s very hard not to feel happy when that happens. It is so nice to be liked. But then too, remember that the warm glow of a stranger’s love was not your motivation. And also remember that someone thinking they love you because they love words you write down is like someone thinking they love cows because they love hamburgers.

Leave a Reply

