Skip to content
May 21, 2013 / Melissa Yuan-Innes

Braderie III: Crazy Chic Upcycled Goodness from Creations Encore

We are models. We do not smile. Smiling is for lesser creatures. However, if you have a button on your dress, we will play with it. That is all.

We are models. We do not smile. Smiling is for lesser creatures. However, if you have a button on your dress, we will play with it. That is all.

I bought this dress next, from Creations Encore. I know the style is in the same family as Rien se Perd. It’s just super cute with leggings, the bottom edging is curves beautifully, and I like the purple colour. The fabric is thinner, which means it’s not as warm and I could wear it on a different day. $59

Occasionally, we may deign to smile, but only when watermelon is about. Kindly ignore the background mess. Concentrate on the fashion.

Occasionally, we may deign to smile, but only when watermelon is about. Kindly ignore the background mess. Concentrate on the fashion.

Vacillated a long time over this shirt. Usually, I like colour. But I just liked this top immediately. I don’t know why. Also, I’m always cold and looking for long-sleeved shirts that I could wear to work, yoga, and then out for night. $39

Enviro-tip: I generally use cloth bags. They want to make sure you’re not shoplifting at the Braderie de mode quebecoise, so they prefer plastic bags that are supposed to be stapled shut with visible receipts, but if you can get one designer to use your cloth bag, the others will play along. The Creations Encore saleswoman is the mother of the designer. I asked her to use my cloth bag, and she said yes and stapled the receipt to itself on the handle, so that it was immediately visible to the bag-checkers at the door and everyone was happy.

Note the black skirt from Sosie Sosie (https://www.facebook.com/Sosiesosie). It’s reversible, has a quite comfortable elastic waistband, and will reappear in future shots. $20!

I will continue with fashion wonder tips in more blogging and in my upcoming book, The Cheap and Lovely Guide to Montreal. I accidentally wrote the Cheap and Easy Guide. That’s a different kind of guide.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. cindie geddes / May 21 2013 11:27 pm

    Best captions ever! Love your voice!

  2. thejessicaxiao / Sep 10 2013 2:43 pm

    Hey Melissa, I came across your blog while searching up Creations Encore. Since you shop in Montreal – I wonder if you’ve ever been to La Gaillarde? It’s on 4019 Rue Notre-Dame next to metro station Place St-Henri. They sell local Quebec ecodesigner clothes and have a huge collection of handpicked vintage. There’s some really nice stuff if you’re interested.

    Here’s their website: lagaillarde.ca & Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/gaillarde

    • Melissa Yuan-Innes / Sep 10 2013 3:40 pm

      Hi Jessica,
      I hadn’t heard of La Gaillarde, but I’ll be sure to check it out. I love the idea of 100% quebecois and 100% ecological. I’m also curious about vintage. Thanks!

      P.S. I’m wearing the Creations Encore dress today. Wore it to yoga with black velvet pants. Sweet!

Leave a Reply

